Employee Awards

Employee Recognition

Mount Royal University recognizes that talented and committed employees are the driving force behind student success. Across the University, employees contribute in many ways that help ensure an exceptional undergraduate experience for our students.


Open the Employee Awards 2018 program.


Mount Royal University celebrates our 2018 Distinguished Awards honourees:


Distinguished Staff:

Heather Evans

Trinda Guillet

Wanda Smith

 Distinguished Administrator/Manager:

Phil Warsaba

 Distinguished Faculty:

Dr. Yasmin Dean

Dr. Evelyn Field

Dr. Scott Murray

Dr. Pamini Thangarajah

Sarah Brown

Brenda Lang

Dr. Micheline Maylor

 Distinguished Teaching (non-credit):

Dr. Sarah Orton

 Effective Team:

Cougars Inclusive Brand Committee

North to South Team

Taylor Centre for the Performing Arts - Concert Season Team



2017 Distinguished Awards honourees:


Distinguished Staff:

Tara Grams

Charmene Brewer

Angela Waldie

Distinguished Administrator/Manager

Dr. Paul Varella

Distinguished Faculty

Dr. Mary-Lee Mulholland

Dr. Lynn Moorman

Dr. Brett McCollum

Dr. Leah Hamilton

Heather Dirks

Joe Kadi

Heather MacLeod

Distinguished Teaching Award (Non-Credit)

Jean-Louis Bleau

Adam Czarnecki

Effective Team

Emergency Response Centre (EOC)

Senior Midwives Tutor Training Program (SMTTP)


Employee Awards program 2017 [pdf]

Employee Awards is a special time for the Mount Royal community — a time when we pause to honour our peers.


Employee Recognition Archive

In honour and recognition of past Distinguished Employee Award winners, long service and retirement recipients, an online archive has been compiled. The archive is current up to and including the year 2015. Please visit the archive.

Employee Recognition Archive

tỷ lệ kèo bóng đá hôm nay Employee Awards Program 2016 [pdf]

2016 Employee Awards Videos

Tom Buchanan - Distinguished Administrator Award

Craig Baskett - Distinguished Staff Award

Pam Jonnson - Distinguished Staff Award

Linda Walker - Distinguished Staff Award

Cari Merkley - Distinguished Faculty Award

Kevin O'Connor - Distinguished Faculty Award

Irene Shankar - Distinguished Faculty Award

Elizabeth Szojka - Distinguished Teaching Award 


Distinguished Award Nomination Information


Distinguished Staff Award

Awarded to Staff who demonstrate:

  • excellence in performing the duties and responsibilities of the position
  • contributions to the University beyond the scope of one's position
  • demonstrated commitment to the University
  • being a role model for peers and colleagues
  • a focus on development
  • demonstrated support for a respectful, healthy work environment

Guidelines for Distinguished Staff Award Nomination Form

Distinguished Faculty Award

For more information or to nominate a faculty member for the Distinguished Faculty Award (credit), please visit mru.ca/DFA.


Distinguished Administrator/Manager Award

Awarded to Administrators or Managers who demonstrate:

  • excellence in performing the duties and responsibilities of the position
  • interaction beyond the work unit
  • demonstrated support for a respectful, healthy work environment
  • being a role model for peers and colleagues
  • demonstrated commitment to the University
  • a focus on development

Guidelines for Distinguished Administrator/Manager Award Nomination Form 


Distinguished Teaching Award (credit-free)

Awarded to Credit-Free Faculty who demonstrate:

  • professional abilities and performance
  • commitment to Mount Royal University
  • service to the community
  • commitment to lifelong learning

Guidelines for Distinguished Teaching Award (credit-free) Nomination Form

Effective Team Award

Awarded to groups of employees who collaborate from different University departments towards the following:

  • work is “beyond the call of duty”, or beyond regular workload
  • the team’s accomplishment(s) benefits the University community, and/or enhances the University’s image, and/or builds a sense of University community
  • the team’s accomplishment(s) is consistent with the University’s vision and/or mandate
  • the outcome of the work adds to the general well-being, satisfaction and happiness of employees
  • the work of the group has been accomplished through a collaborative and cooperative process

Guidelines for Effective Team Award Nomination Form